Home Featured Opposition alliance to head 11 NA panels

Opposition alliance to head 11 NA panels

1 min read

ISLAMABAD: The matter of heading standing committees in the National Assembly has been resolved as the government offered chairmanship of 18 standing committees to the opposition. These committees were held by the then opposition during the previous government from 2018 to 2023.

However, the opposition alliance will choose to head only 11 standing committees out of 18. Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) will get chairmanship of 10 standing committees while JUI-F will lead one standing committee. The standing committees offered to opposition alliance include finance, commerce, foreign affairs, SAFRON, water resources, religious affairs, railways, national heritage, law and justice, maritime affairs, industry and production, housing, human rights, food protection, federal education, aviation, Board of Investment and anti-drugs.

Talking to The Express Tribune, PTI leader Amir Dogar said an agreement has been reached between SIC and the Speaker over chairmanship of standing committees. The Speaker has given the list of the 18 standing committees held by the then opposition in 2018. The opposition alliance will get chairmanship of 11 standing committees, including 10 by PTI and one by JUI-F.